Progressive Certification offer certification to management and product certification systems. The most popular standards are:

(click to expand)

ISO 9001

Quality Management is aimed at ensuring that your organisation delivers to the requirements and expectations of its customers. A successful system balances robustness and consistency with the ability to respond with agility and continually strive for improvement.

ISO 14001

Environmental management systems demonstrate that the organisation has appropriately identified its actual or potential impacts on the environment and is actively controlling its activities to ensure that it avoids, eliminates, reduces or diverts the impacts which might harm its surroundings both local and regional.

OHSAS 18001

Safety, health and welfare are best managed in a systematic manner which starts with a risk assessment of all an organisation’s activities followed by implementation of appropriate controls to reduce risk to appropriate levels. A certified health and safety management system shows that the organisation is cognisant of its legal responsibilities, has carried out risk assessments, has communicated the results to its employees and undertakes its business using safe systems and controls.

NWA 31000

Although ISO 31000 is not for certification, NWA 31000 is adapted for use as a certification programme for Risk Management. This can be used as a separate certification programme or linked to a management system programme (such as ISO 14001, OHSAS 18001, ISO 13485 etc.). Certified risk management systems can be used to support board governance programmes.

ISO 50001

Energy management can be certified to ISO 50001 (currently in transition from EN 16001). A certified ISO 50001 system not only looks at the management of energy use within the organisation but reviews the activities where energy is used from a fundamental viewpoint (the energy service). With the cost of energy rising, an effective energy management system can pay for itself within a short period of time through controls and the use of current technology. Refer to ISO video

ISO 9004

A maturity model is a scale used which starts at 1 (no systems, dependent on the actions of individuals) to 5 (best in class, systems fine tuned to maximise effectiveness of the organisation). A sustainable organisation is one which is designed and operated to survive and flourish and will have a high score on a maturity model. ISO 9004 gives both the guidance for a sustainable organisation and the assessment tool. Progressive Certification offer assessments against this maturity model to provide an objective benchmark and stimulation for improvement.

2nd Party Auditing

Very often an organisation requires a supplier to be audited as part of their own assurance system. With the emphasis on “right sizing”, some organisations subcontract their supplier audits to specialist companies. Progressive Certification can carry out these audits world-wide either directly or through working with partners who are local to the auditee. Progressive Certification have links to organisations globally and can arrange audits in the local language if required.

Carbon Accounting

Closely linked to Energy Management is carbon accounting which covers the processes and fuels which emit CO2. This can be related only to the fuels and processes which emit CO2e on the premises (EU ETS) or these emissions are coupled with energy indirects (electricity mostly)(ISO 14064-1) or in a more holistic manner *ISO 14064-1 and PAS 2050). All the above standards relate to the assessment of carbon emissions and, depending on the reporting needs, can be offered as benchmarking or as audit verified data.


SWiFT 7 has been developed to support S.I. 270:2011 which requires that all bituminous coal on the Irish market be no more than 0.7% sulphur. This programme commences with a baseline study and is followed by annual audits. There is a dedicated product mark which can be used on the bags. Download Progressive Certification’s “description of certification process”. (C-02)